Email Marketing Thanksgiving 2014 Holiday Email Wrap Up

Published on December 3rd, 2014 | by Kim Stiglitz

0

2014 Thanksgiving Weekend Email Marketing Findings

The 2014 Thanksgiving holiday weekend was a busy one for VerticalResponse customers, and we’re not just talking about sales and donations. Our customers sent over 350,000,000 emails from Monday, November 24 through Tuesday, December 2 (Giving Tuesday).

We tallied these specific dates to identify a trend in email volume leading up to Thanksgiving holiday weekend, as well as the number of non-profit customers participating in Giving Tuesday (December 2).

Here’s a breakdown of this data by day, campaign, and the number of emails sent:

Thanksgiving 2014 Holiday Email Wrap Up

Many people also assume high email volume or campaigns revolve purely around Black Friday, however, interestingly for VerticalResponse customers, that wasn’t entirely the case:

  • Giving Tuesday (December 2) was the largest day for the number of email campaigns sent (7, 626). VerticalResponse non-profits sought to raise end-of-year donations and sent a whopping 48 million emails. The peak time for email sends on this day was 9 am PST or 12 pm EST.
  • VerticalResponse small business customers embraced Cyber Monday as evidenced by the 54 million emails sent. The peak time for emails being sent on this day was 10 am PST or 1 pm EST. 
  • The third most popular day for email sends (45,515,870 total) amongst our customers was Tuesday, November 25 – two days before Thanksgiving. This indicates proactive Black Friday, Small Business Saturday and Cyber Monday promotions and events. Peak mailing time this day was at 8 am PST or 11 am EST. 
  • Compared to last year, VerticalResponse customers sent 5% more email from Wednesday, November 26 through Cyber Monday. The biggest increase in email sends occurred on Wednesday and Saturday, likely due to increased Small Business Saturday promotion and prep for Cyber Monday.

Find any of these numbers surprising? How do they size up to your own emailing efforts?

For more holiday email inspiration, check out these ideas, tips and free goodies.  Plus, check out these 25 holiday email subject lines that shine!

Send your emails for free using VerticalResponse!

© 2014, Kim Stiglitz. All rights reserved.

Read Next:

Tags: , ,


About the Author

Kim Stiglitz

is a contributing author for VerticalResponse.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to Top ↑